Upcoming Must-Read: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor - Upcoming Must-Read

This is not my review of Maybe One Day, but I just needed to share my excitement about this book NOW!

I’ve read a lot of HarperCollins books this year, and unfortunately a lot of them have fallen very, very flat for me. So when I found a HarperCollins book that TOTALLY ROCKED MY WORLD, I knew I had to share it with you guys!

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
Published by: HarperTeen on February 18th 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Friendship, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Buy the Book | Goodreads
My Rating: five-stars

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Maybe One Day is a cry book if I’ve ever seen one. It’s well written, it’s interesting, and will make you SOB SOB SOB! It deals with an amazing, beautiful friendship that has me insanely jealous. Why don’t I have a best friend like Olivia or Zoe? I want one! Where can I get one? Who wants to be my new BFF?

It also deals a lot with death and how a teenager has to think about death as a real and upcoming possibility. Olivia struggles to accept that her dreams may not come true and she may never experience the future she’s dreamed about. SOB!!

The synopsis compares Maybe One Day to The Fault in Our Stars, which I have not read, but now I am suddenly dying to read it! If there’s anything out there that’s close to the awesomeness of this book, I want in on it!

If you like a good cry book, this book is for you.
If you like a book about an amazing friendship, this book is for you.
If you like a book that isn’t dominated by romance, this book is for you.
If you like a book about letting old dreams go and forging new ones, this book is for you.

I’m so, so glad that I read Maybe One Day and this book makes me really hopeful about Harper’s other upcoming contemporary books! I hope they rock just as hard!

So if you’re like me and have been a bit wary of Harper books lately, HAVE NO FEAR! Maybe One Day is amazing and is DEFINITELY worth picking up!

Photo of Ashley
I'm a 28 year old California girl living in England (I fell in love with a Brit!). My three great passions are: books, coding, and fitness. more »

Don't miss my next post!

Sign up to get my blog posts sent directly to your inbox (plus exclusive store discounts!).

You might like these

19 comments

  1. I totally see what you mean about Harper books being not so strong lately. And yes, I totally love a good cry book but I tempt to love a little more romance with it.. Still, will read it – thanks for this post, it’s a great way to show off books that are released in the future without having to post the review so early!

    1. I normally like romance too, which is why I was so pleasantly surprised by Maybe One Day! I didn’t think I’d be able to love it as much as I did without a strong, prominent romance. But it was fab!

  2. I’m getting a serious case of grabby hands after reading this. Dare I preorder already? I requested on Edelweiss but, let’s face it, my newborn baby blog doesn’t have much clout at this point so I’m none too hopeful that I’ll be approved. Regardless, I LOVE books that focus on strong friendships. And bring on the tearfest. Thanks for spotlighting and making me want this even more. : )

  3. Cannot WAIT for this one. Ever since I saw the cover + synopsis, I knew I NEEDED to read it. It definitely seems like it’s one that will move me, so knowing you really loved it…well that makes me that much more excited. πŸ™‚

    Molli recently posted: Review: Vortex by Julie Cross
  4. I’ve noticed that a lot of the Harper titles this year have been three stars or less, which is always sad. BUT THIS ONE? EEEP I’m so happy that you loved it! It sounds amazing, and since it’s compared to TFiOS… *strokes mustache* check, check and CHECK for all of the “If you love”! I can’t wait to get my hands on this one, I’ll be looking forward to your review until then!

  5. Ohh I remember a lot of Harper’s summer books were kind of flat and disappointing, but I’m so happy this one was so great and amazing! This one looks like it has amazing character development and the fact that it’s a cry book? Sold! I rarely ever cry when reading books, so I hope that I will when I read this one. πŸ™‚

    Fantastic post, Ashley! <33

    Eileen @ ***Singing and Reading in the Rain*** recently posted: Just Like Fate by Cat Patrick and Suzanne Young
  6. Well, Ashley, I’m just here! Available for bestie positions! (LOL)

    And a pity I didn’t get approved for this one, although I would like to. But then, that’s too much to hope for me to get approved. After all, it’s Harper.

    But I kinda agree with you about their books being quite meh lately. I’ve felt the same way.

    Shannelle (The Tracery of Ink) recently posted: Book Review: Crossed

Recent Posts

    Random Posts