Waiting on Wednesday (43) – Velvet

Velvet by Em Garner - WoWVelvet by Em Garner

Velvet by Em Garner

Publication date: July 23rd 2013

Add it to your shelf on Goodreads

After the Contamination—an epidemic caused by the super-trendy diet drink SlimPro that turned ordinary citizens into violent, uncontrollable creatures—the government rounded up the “Connies” to protect the remaining population. Now, two years later, the rehabilitated are being allowed home, complete with shock collars that will either control, or kill, them.

Velvet Ellis has struggled to care for her ten-year-old sister since her parents were taken in the round up. When she finds her mother in one of the “Kennels,” Velvet resolves to do whatever it takes to put her family back together. But the danger isn’t over. It’s beginning all over again…

Gritty and grabbing, Velvet is a harrowing, emotionally charged novel for fans of Carrie Ryan and The Walking Dead.

Velvet by Em Garner

It’s no secret that I LOVE apocalyptic-type novels. Give me a virus or a disease and that’s even better! Give me a virus in an energy drink… AWESOME! Also, check out that cover. That freaking badass cover. That’s so cool!!

What book are you waiting on? Leave me a link or a note in the comments!

Photo of Ashley
I'm a 28 year old California girl living in England (I fell in love with a Brit!). My three great passions are: books, coding, and fitness. more »

Don't miss my next post!

Sign up to get my blog posts sent directly to your inbox (plus exclusive store discounts!).

You might like these

13 comments

Recent Posts

    Random Posts