Review: A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

A Million Miles AwayA Million Miles Away by Lara Avery
Published by: Poppy on July 7, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Source: NetGalley
Book Details
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.

When high school senior Kelsey's identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn't know about the tragedy is Michelle's boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can't bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can't deny that she's falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn't want.

A Million Miles Away was AMAAAZING! It was addicting, sweet, swoony, and completely heartbreaking.

The romance itself was so incredibly tender. They were SO ADORABLE together! I also loved how so much of Kelsey and Peter’s exchange was via email. Something about seeing all their emails and letters written out was just so heart-fluttering.

And as for the family side (Michelle’s death), it was totally heartbreaking. I completely understood why Kelsey did what she did. She was put in such an awkward position. I feel like I might have done the same thing had I been in her shoes. I mean, when a guy says, “You’re the only thing that keeps me going here in Afghanistan. I don’t know what I’d do if you weren’t there waiting for me,” how the hell can you say, “Sorry, the person you think you’re talking to is dead.” I MEAN! OH MY GOD! Impossible situation!!

I adored all the different layers of this book:

  • Dealing with the death of a twin
  • Trying to hold a grieving family together
  • Dancing and art
  • Falling in love with your dead twin’s boyfriend
  • Romantic, long-distance relationship
  • Military

So many fantastic, beautiful, and heartbreaking ideas. This book took over my feels! I was happy, devastated, and practically in tears on more than one occasion. I felt ALL THE THINGS!!

A Million Miles Away is easily one of my favourite books this year!

The Verdict

amazing

Photo of Ashley
I'm a 30 year old California girl living in England (I fell in love with a Brit!). My three great passions are: books, coding, and fitness. more »

Don't miss my next post!

Sign up to get my blog posts sent directly to your inbox (plus exclusive store discounts!).

You might like these

8 comments

Recent Posts

    Random Posts