Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling KingdomsFalling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Series: Falling Kingdoms #1
Published by: Razorbill on December 11, 2012
Genre: Adventure, Fantasy, Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 412
Buy on AmazonGoodreads
Rating: ★★★★½

In a land where magic has been forgotten but peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest is simmering. Three kingdoms grapple for power—brutally transforming their subjects' lives in the process. Amidst betrayals, bargains, and battles, four young people find their fates forever intertwined:

Cleo: A princess raised in luxury must embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long thought extinct.

Jonas: Enraged at injustice, a rebel lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people's revolution centuries in the making.

Lucia: A girl adopted at birth into a royal family discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Magnus: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, a firstborn son begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword...

The only outcome that's certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

I was terrified going into Falling Kingdoms. It’s marketed as being great for fans of George R.R. Martin. Unfortunately, I don’t like Martin’s books. I know what you’re thinking: “You don’t like A Song of Ice and Fire???” I’m afraid not, folks. I love the overall story of that series, but the books themselves put me to sleep and there are way too many characters that I didn’t give a shit about. So naturally, Falling Kingdoms scared me.

I think my problem with books like this is that character development tends to suffer when there are so many. If I have to keep track of a million characters, I get people and places mixed up, it’s hard to keep track, and I don’t have enough time to get truly invested in the characters. To some extent, this was still a little bit of a problem in Falling Kingdoms, but nowhere near the extent that I was anticipating! I did get off to a bit of a rocky start with this book, but it only improved as time went on, until finally, I was completely hooked!

So if it wasn’t clear already, Falling Kingdoms is told from the point of view of three different kingdoms—with different characters in each. Luckily, Morgan Rhodes takes baby steps to help us get used to the characters. They all have distinct voices and stories and it’s easy to get interested in all of them! My affections and investment for each character grew as the story progressed! At first I was a little unsure that I’d grow to care about them, but by the end, I really grew to appreciate the differences between the characters!

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes - Murder, revenge, magic

And the fantasy in this book… IT WAS AWESOME! The fantasy and lore is really what drew me in. Around the end of the beginning of the book, I thought I was pretty convinced that it would end up with a 3 star rating. At that point, I wasn’t sold on the characters and although there was a cute romance developing, it developed way too soon and my concerns about character development being too quick and fleeting were starting to show. But at that same point, the fantasy in the book took a major leap forward and re-hooked my interest in the story! We have magic, goddesses, sorceresses, witches, prophecies, and more! And everyone—all three kingdoms—are fighting to take pieces of it. Everyone wants the power and the magic for themselves. As they struggle to obtain it, there are plenty of brutal murders, betrayals, backstabbings, heartbreaks, acts of revenge, and wars! It’s intense, it’s thrilling, and there are plenty of unexpected turns that will have you ripping through pages! And the battles in this book feel real. There is none of that nonsense where all of the ‘good’ people miraculously survive, or all the family members stick together and happen to make it through to the end. Nope. There is real, tragic death and unexpected (or expected) losses. Characters you love will die. It’s sad, and it’s awful, but it also makes this book stand out.

There is one thing about Falling Kingdoms that I loved, but for some people this could be the reason why they don’t like the book. It’s clearly written for young adults. That may be obvious, given that it’s classified as a young adult book, but I really grew to appreciate this. I find that with more ‘adult’ fantasy books, the writing style just distances me from any kind of emotion or investment in the characters. This was a big problem for me with A Song of Ice and Fire. But Falling Kingdoms has that epic fantasy feel with a lighter and more ‘friendly’ writing style that makes the book very smooth and easy to read.

Kind of building on that point, one complaint from other reviewers is that the language isn’t written like historical language would be. Instead, it feels modern. I actually liked that aspect because I can’t help but think, “This is so cheesy” when I read books with older, more proper language (like “How art thou this evening, m’lady?”). It’s just a personal preference I guess.

Falling Kingdoms was a really pleasant surprise for me because I went in not expecting to like it that much. Let me just say that I was pissed when it ended! I wanted more. I desperately want to know how this story will turn out! It left in a really fabulous place where things got wrapped up (even if it wasn’t quite a happy ending), but I’m still hungry for more.

The Verdict

lovedit

Photo of Ashley
I'm a 28 year old California girl living in England (I fell in love with a Brit!). My three great passions are: books, coding, and fitness. more »

Don't miss my next post!

Sign up to get my blog posts sent directly to your inbox (plus exclusive store discounts!).

You might like these

17 comments

  1. Dude you are not along! George R.R. Martin bored me to tears! I even quit at 70% I was SO BORED! But funny enough, I really enjoy the show!! So yes, I was really wary of this one, too and never even considered it. I’m glad that it wasn’t actually like George R.R. Martin bahah. I’m not a fan of fantasy overall but the ones I do like sound like this! Great lore and I can’t stand books with old-school writing so that’s definitely a plus for me that it’s more modernized. We seem to agree on a lot of things about fantasy >.<

    Giselle recently posted: Review: Swell by Julie Rieman Duck
    1. Haha that’s awesome Giselle! I honestly never thought I’d find another anti-Martin person. I felt like EVERYONE loved him but me. I read the first book and it took me like a month to get through it because I was so bored.. but since everyone raved about it, I pushed myself through the second book (what was I thinking??). Then I got halfway through the third book before I came to my senses and decided to stop torturing myself.

      But I actually love the show too! I think the show tends to cut out most of the boring bits and is more focused on the overall plot. That, and maybe I just really don’t like Martin’s writing style and that isn’t an issue on screen.

  2. Great to hear that you enjoyed this book so much. I preordered it a few weeks ago and I’m so excited to get & read it. Btw, the books by R.R. Martin couldn’t interest me less.

    Sabrina recently posted: Cover favourites
    1. I really, really hope you enjoy this book as much as I did! 🙂 And omg, not-interested-in-Martin people UNITE!! I love that I’m not the only one LOL!

  3. Maybe the anachronistic language is intentional – to make the book easy to read like you said. 😀 I don’t mind the language used as long as the plot is good. For me, it’s the story that counts.

    I haven’t read Martin’s books, and I don’t think I will. I love fantasy books, but I’ve seen the show and… ugh… it’s not the kind of fantasy I like. I prefer wholesome stories. haha!

    I’m so glad you liked Falling Kingdoms! Now, I’m REALLY looking forward to reading it. 😀

    JoAnne @ The Fairyta recently posted: Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin
    1. Well I think it’s obvious that I wouldn’t recommend you read Martin’s books. 😀 I think you’re making a good choice by staying away from them. I regret reading the 2.5 that I did because it feels like weeks of wasted time LOL!

      Anyway I really hope you enjoy this book! I’ll keep an eye out for your review. 😉 I think the only real similarity between Falling Kingdoms and Martin’s books is the fact that we have multiple kingdoms fighting over power.. so that’s a pretty general comparison. But the voices of the characters, the magic, the writing styles, and the overall vibes of the book are so different.. thank goodness! LOL! Fingers crossed that you like it! 🙂

  4. To a point, I have to agree. Martin’s books are extremely difficult to become submersed in. Even though, I really enjoy his books. As the series progresses, the characters are easier to understand and follow.

    Falling Kingdoms is a book I sincerely hope I get. I love, love, LOVE fantasy! It’s my favorite genre, and I am drooling at the thought of this book. I have got to have it!

    Ivy recently posted: WoW (3)
    1. I do really enjoy the overall story of Martin’s books, so I can understand why a lot of people like them. I guess I just don’t click with his writing style.

      I think you’ll really enjoy Falling Kingdoms! The fantasy is BRILLIANT! That’s definitely what hooked me in. And each character very clearly has an important role in the story. And if you read it and love it, you’ll be clawing for book 2! Rhodes really knows how to leave us begging for more!

    1. Exactly! I feel like you said it better than I did LOL! With a lot of high fantasy I find myself having to read the same sentence like 5 times.

  5. Great review! I loved this book so much! My review goes up tomorrow for out tour stop. I honestly believe that this is a great book for young readers to segue into high fantasy books. I totally agree with the battle scenes. I was picturing those epic movie battle moments of old. Battle cries, war paint…the whole 9 yards! I too was so sad when it ended. I wasn’t ready for this epic trip to end yet. I need more!!

    1. I loved your review MaryAnn!! This is definitely a great high fantasy book for people just starting to get into it. I wish we didn’t have to wait a million years for the second book!

    1. Falling Kingdoms isn’t short, but it is like almost 300 pages less than A Game of Thrones! Overall I think Falling Kingdoms is much more interesting and easier to get through!!

  6. I loved how your predicted rating went from a 3 or 4 star to a stellar 5 stars! Makes me even more excited to read it. Hopefully soon!

Recent Posts

    Random Posts