Renegade by Debra Driza

RenegadeRenegade by
Series: MILA 2.0 #2
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books on
Genre: Romance, Science Fiction, Technology, Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 448
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
Rating: 3/5

There is no one left for Mila to trust. Except for a boy she barely knows.

But Hunter has no idea who—and what—Mila really is. She can’t bear to reveal her secret, even though he’s unwittingly joined her search for Richard Grady, a man who may know more details of Mila’s complicated past.

Yet the road to the truth is more dangerous than ever. With General Holland and the Vita Obscura scouring the earth for her whereabouts, Mila must rely on her newfound android abilities to protect herself and Hunter from imminent harm. Still, embracing her identity as a machine leads her to question the state of her humanity—as well as Hunter’s real motives.

Perfect for fans of I Am Number Four and Divergent, this action-packed and heart-wrenching second installment of MILA 2.0 will leave readers breathlessly awaiting the series conclusion.

I feel like I’ve been saying this about every “middle” book I’ve read lately, but here it goes: MILA 2.0 was a pretty good book, but it also had that second book lull.

Most of the problem was in the first three quarters of the book. It was just one big, long road trip. We never learned a ton of information and after a while, I started to get a bit bored. It just wasn’t super thrilling. The characters were just moving from one place to the next, picking up a few super tiny breadcrumbs along the way.

I did kind of like seeing Mila and Hunter together, but I was also kind of mad at Mila. I so desperately wanted her to come clean to Hunter and tell him that she’s an android. She almost did about 50 times, but each time she changed her mind at the last minute and it started to really piss me off!

Also there was one twist involving Hunter that I guessed very early on, so it was a bit frustrating that Mila totally didn’t see it.

But putting that aside, Hunter was soooo sweet! He and Mila were really cute together and I love how we got a closer look at their relationship than in the first book.

Towards the end, things definitely did pick up. It was intense and somethings happened that I still can’t believe actually happened! View Spoiler » Debra Driza really set up the story well for book three. I’m curious to see how everything pans out!

The Verdict

prettygood

Photo of Ashley
I'm a 27 year old California girl living in England (I fell in love with a Brit!). I like to inject a little #girlpower into the WordPress development community by teaching women how to be coding badasses. more »

Don't miss my next post!

Sign up to get my blog posts sent directly to your inbox (plus exclusive store discounts!).

You might like these

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

5 comments

  1. I haven’t read any of the books in this series, but I’ve seen them around quite a lot, but The premise doesn’t really excite me or make me want to read it. Then again, I went into The Lunar Chronicles and These Broken Stars expecting to be bored out of my mind, but look how that turned out. Ahem. I guess I just need someone to shove it in my face now. 😛

    Madiha @ Symphony of Words recently posted: Clarity (Clarity #1) by Loretta Lost

Recent Posts

    Random Posts